Review: Pooch Post – August 2016

Woof and hello to everyone!

How is everyone doing? I hope you’re well! It’s been a very busy week here at the Fluffy household! The big news is that my pawrents got engaged last Sunday! My dad surprised my mom after they had a lovely picnic overlooking the Kinsale harbour. Humans are silly things, mommy was crying even though she was happy. I don’t understand them sometimes!

Enough of the humans, let’s get back to the doggie business! I’m back with another Pooch Post review for you all! This month’s box arrived as promptly as ever on the 17th of August. The reason it has taken me a couple of weeks to get this review up is that I thought it would be a good idea to test out the products for a little while first so that I could give you a proper review 🙂 I think I might keep this format, let me know what you think!

What is Pooch Post?

pooch_post_logo_compact

Pooch Post is a subscription box service based in Ireland. The lovely Lilly is the main pup in charge with her dad, Stephen. They work hard every month to gather up different products and treats for their customers to enjoy, and Lilly has the wonderful job of being the chief tester for everything. What a lucky pooch! Pooch Post is a great way to get a variety of tried and tested products delivered to your door each month. If something doesn’t get the Lilly tail-wag of approval, it doesn’t get in the box, so you know everything is good 🙂

If you would like to learn more about Pooch Post, pop over to their site here: PoochPost.ie

Somewhere along the delivery line my poor box must have hit the floor, so please excuse it not being in any photos this month! Thankfully the box is very sturdy, so none of the goodies got damaged. My daddy tried to hide the box from me when it arrived but I could see it up on the couch and he couldn’t stop me getting all excited! I know the box, and I know it’s for me 😉

So, what did you get this month?

2016-08-17_18-54-22
This month, we got five new items and also a flyer that gives us 20% off and experience with Pawtrait Photography! I just had a browse through her site and wow, she takes amazing photos of pooches! Please do go have a look, there are some stunning photographs there 🙂

We also got our usual Pooch Post flyer detailing our goodies, and the next issue of the Cold Noses Newsletter. This time there was a listing of on-demand veterinarian support websites (for those times when you need some advice but can’t get to a vet), a piece on dealing with separation anxiety, a recipe for some tasty homemade treats, a piece defending Pit Bulls (very important as the breed is highly misunderstood!), and more!

Xylitol

The piece that caught our attention on the newsletter was about xylitol and how dangerous it is for dogs. It’s a sugar substitute that is in so many products nowadays (including in some brands of a common doggie favourite, peanut butter!) and it could actually kill your pooch! We had a personal experience with xylitol after my cousin Oscar snuck into his mom’s bag and ate her bubble gum. My aunt and mom had to make an emergency call to the vet and Oscar had to get an injection to make him sick before it got into his system. So be very careful furends! Ask your pawrents to check the labels!

Cheeky Dog Bakery: Cupcake Cookie

2016-08-17_18-57-58
The first item in the box this month was another tasty treat from Cheeky Dog Bakery. This is one of the two Irish companies that are partnered with Pooch Post, which means that each month you are guaranteed to get one of their delicious handmade dog treats to enjoy. This month it was a lovely tasty cookie in the shape of a cupcake!

This little treat is made with a peanut butter base (definitely no xylitol in there!) and covered with yummy (and dog friendly!) icing. Tasty!! After I tossed the packet around for a while trying to open it, mom finally got the hint and opened it for me (silly mom!). I was once again a very caring cousin and let Oscar have the top half 😉 I nibbled the icing off of the cookie first before snacking down on half of my share. I had the rest for breakfast the next day! Who wouldn’t want cookies with their breakfast? 😉

Soopa: Papaya Chews

2016-08-17_18-59-13
Soopais the second Irish company partnered with Pooch Post. These guys focus on bringing pets super healthy treats that are low calorie, nutritious and also very tasty. Last month we got the Coconut Chews, and this month we got the Papaya Chews!

I looooove these Papaya Chews! I don’t know what it is about them, but I simply love to get my little teeth into them! They smell good and taste good, and have lots of benefits, such as:

  • Low Calorie, 1g of fat per 100g
  • One of your Dogs Five a Day
  • Rich in Anti Oxidants
  • Contains ‘Papain’ which Aids Digestion

These treats are always a winner with us 🙂

Green & Wilds: Antler Powder – Dietary Supplement

2016-08-17_18-56-59
This is the second Green & Wilds treat in a row that we got in Pooch Post and it didn’t disappoint! My mom knew there was something with this little grey tube that had caught my nose’s attention when I insisted on it being taken out of the box and kept trying to open it myself. You can see the proof below!

I’ve never heard of Antler Powder before, but I have an antler chew that I enjoy so that’s probably why my nose was interested. Don’t worry, it’s all natural and taken from antlers that free roaming deer have shed themselves. So it’s totally cruelty free (very important!) and it’s packed with high volumes of natural minerals and nutrients, which aid circulation, metabolism and other things.

My mom said it’s like when they sprinkle a little salt on their food 🙂 I don’t know what that tastes like, but all I know is that my bowl has been cleared almost every single time this has been sprinkled on my food! Mom is very impressed! My cousin Oscar isn’t as keen (he wouldn’t eat the food with the powder on it for ages) but I really like it! It comes out as a white powder, and you really only need a little. It’s going to last for a long time too, so yay!

Kong: Wild Knots Birds

2016-08-17_19-01-06
This month saw the return of a Kong toy (we got one a few months back, my little bear that you can see below!). This time it was a red and white knot bird!

These knot plushies have rope in their bodies, which means they last longer than your normal plush. My little bear has been played with by both Oscar and I, and he’s still hanging in there! (Ok, he’s missing some bits, but he’s still here!)

He also comes with a little stuffing (so there’s not too much of a mess when we pooches eventually get into his belly!) and one of my most favourite things, a squeaker! Mom said to make sure I say it’s not a super loud squeaker, just in case other pawrents don’t like them 😉

2016-08-17_19-04-00

Also, bonus points to Pooch Post for sending the toy that is in the colours of my county! (Red and white are the County Cork colours, just in case you didn’t know 😉 )

PawBakes: Cupcake Baking Kit

2016-08-17_18-55-57
Last but by no means least, we have a fun baking kit from PawBakes! How cute is this?! I get to make my own pupcakes at home! Well, mom will make them, but still!

The ingredients are all human grade (so you know they’re good!) and the kit is a peanut butter flavour with doggie-chocolate icing! There are even small little cupcase cases for them! All you need to make them is a bun tray, one medium egg, 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil and some water (3 tablespoons).

Now at the moment I cannot go into more details on how they turned out, because we haven’t made them yet! Mom said she’s going to help me make them so we can do a full review of them by themselves, which should be fun! So please keep a look out for that coming down the line 🙂

Value Comparison

The Pooch Post show should have all of these in stock very soon if you want to shop all in one place 😉 You can visit the shop here: http://www.poochpost.ie/shop/. At the time of writing this review they were not all up yet, so I went around to the different sites and gathered up the prices of each product. I hope this will help you see for yourself the value for money you can expect from Pooch Post.

This brings to total value of this month’s Pooch Post to €28.30.

poochPostBox
The different price plans Pooch Post have in place include:

  • 1 month: €29
  • 3 months: €81 (€27 per box)
  • 6 months: €144 (€24 per box)

Note: Shipping is free for both Ireland and the UK!

As with the last box, I feel like this is a very good deal! You get a number of different treats, toys and/or accessories delivered to your door each month and I think this is a great way of trying out new things that you know have been tested already (Remember, if it’s not good enough for Lilly then it doesn’t go in the box!).

Also, you get an even better deal if you use one of Pooch Post’s discount codes!

Discount Code

If you’re feeling tempted, I have three different codes you can use (only one per order though ;)). The first are two 10% codes, one from the newsletter of COLDNOSES! And the second is the code WOOF. These codes will work across all of the plans.

However, there’s currently a 30% off code going if you want to go for a 3-month package! It’s only available until the 10th of September, so grab it while you can! That would work out at €56.70 in total, which is only €18.90 per box!

If that has convinced you, then pop over to their site and use this code to get 30% off: 3MONTH30

30offSept16

If you’re reading this later and the 30% deal is gone, then I can suggest keeping an eye on Pooch Post’s social media accounts too. They always have discounts popping up to give their customers even better value for money!

www.PoochPost.ie
www.facebook.com/PoochPost
www.instagram.com/pooch_post
www.twitter.com/pooch_post

Final Thoughts

This box gets four paws up from me! The Soopa treats are long gone, as is the cookie from Cheeky Dog Bakery. All of my meals now have antler powder on them (and I’ve had no tummy issues from it 🙂 ), and my Kong Knot bird is getting tossed around the room nightly! I even gave him a new hairstyle (I trimmed it down a little with my teeth 😉 ). I’ve yet to try the cupcake baking kit, but I’m sure that will be fun too!

Here’s to September’s box! 😀

I hope you enjoyed my review! Please let me know if you have any feedback in the comments below, or visit me on any of my socials 🙂

Until next time, thank you very much for reading!

Woof!
Lu

* Pooch Post very kindly supplied this month’s box to me to review. All opinions in this review are my own and are very honest. I like to say it as it is! 😉 If I don’t like something, I promise I will tell you!

Share the fluff! Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on RedditPin on PinterestEmail this to someone

2 thoughts on “Review: Pooch Post – August 2016

    • Lu says:

      Thank you for your comment Bernie! 🙂

      These boxes are great! There’s always so many different things to try out each month! My mom gets more excited about my post coming to the house now than she does her own hehe 😀

      Woof!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.