Review: Wellybix

Woof and a fluffy hello to everyone!

I have a different review for you today! I am reviewing two delicious treats from Wellybix: Hand Baked Dog Treats! Let’s get to it, shall we? 😉

Who Are Wellybix?

wellybix

Wellybix is a thriving little company run by the lovely Alison and her Jack Russell, Welly! As I’m sure you’ve guessed, Welly is the inspiration behind Wellybix 😉

Alison worked as a pastry chef before being inspired to open up her own homemade doggie treat company after baking some tasty treats for Welly a few years ago. It went from treats just for Welly, to treats for pooches visiting the local holiday cottages, to a fully fledged treat company with their own online store! They also supply a number of pet and farm shops around the UK.

Who doesn’t love a happy business story like this! 😀 Onward and upward for this lovely company!

On that note, if you’d like to be a Wellybix supplier, just give Alison and Welly a shout 🙂

Review time!

In truth, this review has been a long time coming :S It was back in late June when Welly gave a shoutout on Twitter for any pooches that would like a sample of their treats to review. I, of course, was very excited to try some new doggie biscuits, so I sent him a reply, wagging my tail and saying “Me please!”

Within a week the treats had been organised, baked and zoomed through the post to our door! I sampled the treats at the start of July (a little before my blog was launched) and it’s now late September… A mix of mom being busy (and a little lazy :P) caused this delay, and I want to apologise so so much to Alison and Welly for taking this long! You’ve been so patient with me, thank you!

So what did you think?

2016-07-04_18-14-08

The first thing I noticed when I opened up my tasty-smelling package was the cute paw-print tissue wrapping. It was kept together with a couple of sticker tabs with the Wellybix logo, a cute touch I thought!

The packaging of the treats themselves were also eye catching with their colourful labels and little windows (my tail was going into overdrive when I could see the biscuits through the window!). The bags the treats came in sealed up well enough to keep the biscuits fresh for us until we gobbled them all down. Each brown packet contains 110g of biscuits to nibble on and retail at the low price of £3.25.

2016-07-04_18-16-26_2

I got two different flavours to try out; Chocolate Flavour with Carob and Oats and Carrot with Fresh Parsley.

I had some help testing these treats out (I’m only little, I couldn’t eat them all myself 😉 ). Oscar was more than happy to help me out! Even my mom helped, but she worked more on the smell than the taste. Although, since Wellybix make treats that have no artificial preservatives, colours, flavour enhancers, salt or sugar, she could have had some if she wanted since they are totally safe for both pooches and people! With the increasing amount of preservatives and chemicals appearing in food these days, it’s always great to find all-natural yummy goodness 😉

What’s up doc?

2016-07-04_18-30-50

The first biscuits we tried out were the Carrot with Fresh Parsley ones. I personally loooooove raw carrots so I was naturally very happy with these treats! The ingredients are:

  • Whole wheat and plain flour
  • Oats (Is high in fibre, which aids digestion)
  • Wheatgerm
  • Milk Powder
  • Flaxseed (Is high in fibre, just like the oats)
  • Fresh Pressed Carrot Juice (Contains vitamins A & E, which are great for healthy skin)
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Fresh Parsley (Contains vitamins A & C, calcium, magnesium and iron)

See? Full of natural and beneficial goodness! It’s a bonus that they taste good 😉 These became my bedtime treat for a couple of nights, and I couldn’t wait for them!

Chocolate for a pooch?

2016-07-04_18-34-42

Now I know what you’re thinking when you read that the second flavour is Chocolate with Carob and Oats; “But Lu, isn’t chocolate poisonous to dogs?”

And you would be right! But even though this treat says chocolate, tastes like chocolate and smells like chocolate (mom says they smell like chocolate chip cookies), there is actually no chocolate in it! It’s all got to do with the clever mix of flavours that Alison has put together to give the illusion of chocolate to us pooches, without the risk of us getting sick 😉 The ingredients are:

  • Wholewheat and Plain Flour
  • Oats
  • Wheatgerm
  • Carob Flakes
  • Skimmed Milk Powder
  • Sunflower oil
  • Water

2016-07-04_18-26-08

Not a drop of chocolate in sight! It fooled my mom; she had to double check the ingredients since she couldn’t believe that what she was smelling wasn’t actual chocolate.

Now I have to admit, I wasn’t the biggest fan of the chocolate treat myself. Us Yorkies are known to be fussy eaters and this was one of those moments. However, my cousin Oscar wolfed them down very happily! We made the trade off that I would have the carrot treats while he had the chocolate. Win win really, there was no fighting over the treats that way 😉

And that’s not all!

At the time of writing this review, there are seven different flavours to choose from on the Wellybix website:

Each of the 110g packets are only £3.25 and there’s a Biscuit Selection Pack for £12 where you can choose four different flavours to get your teeth into.

But wait, there’s more!

Wellybix don’t just do doggie biscuits, they sell a whole range of items in their online store! Some of the items include;

There’s so much choice! There’s even a recipe section just in case you want to try and make your own doggie delights 😉

Oh also, not only did Welly send me some treats to try out, but he also sent me a £5 voucher off a Ruffle Snuffle toy! I did take advantage of this great offer and got a Ruffle Snuffle for myself. I’ll have more on this in a future review 🙂

To wrap up

2016-07-04_18-28-402016-07-04_18-28-46_2

I would have to give Wellybix four paws up for everything! The treats, the packaging, the quick shipping, and the contact. I’ve spoken to Alison and Welly many times on Twitter and they are always so cheerful and fun to talk to! They’re super active on Twitter, so that’s a good place to find them. You can also find them at any of these links below:

While it took me a little while to write this, I hope you enjoyed my review! I will definitely be making another Wellybix order soon (once I work my way through the treats I have left in my treat-box 😉 ).

Have you tried any of Wellybix’s treats? What did you think? 🙂

Until next time, thank you very much for reading! I hope you have a great week!

Woof!
Lu

2016-07-04_18-20-28
2016-07-04_18-20-12
2016-07-04_18-15-40
2016-07-04_18-31-06
2016-07-04_18-27-50
2016-07-04_18-26-10
2016-07-04_18-21-10
2016-07-04_18-23-24
2016-07-04_18-25-38
2016-07-04_18-24-16
2016-07-04_18-28-46

* Wellybix very kindly supplied these treats for me to review. All opinions in this review are my own and are very honest. I like to say it as it is! 😉

Share the fluff! Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on RedditPin on PinterestEmail this to someone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.